discussion   |   photos   |   email   |   myProfile   |   home          Login Now | Sign Up

Forum Index

New As Posted | Active Subjects

Click to Post a New Message!

Discussion Boards > Active Subjects > Messages as Posted > Electric Forum

Page 1 | [ 2 ] |      << Prev

03-30-2004, 18:04 Post: 81603
kully560

TractorPoint Premium Member -- 5 Tractors = Very Frequent Poster

Filter by User
 wiring my new garage

ok this is what you need to do , as I have been doing this for 30 years now so I guess I should know. your house panel /service should be change to 200 amp first. once that is done than you will run 1.5"sk.80 pvc from house panel to garage,make it 2 feet deep in the ground, when you cover with dirt add 1 foot of dirt over pipe, then roll out caution tape over fill so you do not dig it up latter.than fill in trench the rest of way. you will need to pull in 3/ # 2 copper wires and 1/# 4 ground wire to feed 100 amp panel . 100 amps is more than you will need because how many machines can you use at once. I over sized the wire because off voltage drop you will have at 200 feet away.nice new 200 amp service at house ,and 100 amp at garage.also add 3/4# pvc in trench for phone a must. the reason why your meter wire lossen up is because it was probably alum. and not copper .alum must retighten at least once several days latter as it is soft ,so that is why I recomend using copper only better job .I hope this will help ,ps do not pay $17 a month for 2nd service use it to pay for complete up grade once kurt

Reply to PostReply | Quote Post Reply to PostQuote Reply | Add PhotoAdd Photo

Bookmarks: Digg It | Del.icio.us |
 04-02-2004, 20:22 Post: 81931
texbaylea

wiring my new garage